Posted on

Snoopy premiere

Today was special. The musical premiered. We had dress rehearsals yesterday in front of an audience and they were great. Seeing the kids meeting Snoopy and the gang was pretty dang lovely. But today was even more awesome. The audience fed us energy. The theatre wasn’t quite packed but it felt completely packed because they made so much noise. Next week there’s gonna be even more people (there were plenty now but next week will be wall to wall) as tickets are sold out.

The actors were brilliant. I remember complaining during rehearsals that no one was doing the Snoopy dance. There was room for improve during dancing and I was like: “It’s a Snoopy musical and no one is doing the Snoopy dance!” So both Snoopy and Linus did it during the show. Lovely.

The only odd moment was me taking a bow in front of the audience in the end. I wasn’t prepared, and as someone else behind the scene said: “I just wondered why I’m out here receiving the cheering.” I know why. It still felt super weird, not being one of the actors. The reason why I took the job was really me not wanting to keep a high profile right now, but still getting to do what I love. But the crew insisted. So OK. I did do the whole music and audio bit (including changing keys and creating the sound) and coached them all. I played most of Schroeder’s parts on the piano and let the actor pretend play almost as good as Rob Lowe’s sax action in St Elmo. Still strange. I really thrived behind the scene. Next week I might dress up a little and be as prepared as the other behind-the-scene workers were who actually KNEW they were going on stage in the end 😛

I’ll post some pics soon. Here’s a sneak peek! 🙂

dokglee

dance

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

