Posted on

I know the score

A positive thing about the musical song coaching deal on “You’re a good man, Charlie Brown” that I’m doing is that my score reading is pretty much up to snuff again. As I stopped playing classical piano and started writing my own things, I sort of lost it a little. Not completely, but I wasn’t quick any more like I used to be. On sight score reading/creating was a slow process. But last weekend I not only read some of the score upside down (the actors were looking at it and I needed to explain some things, pointing at the then upside down sheet), but I transposed (changed the key) then and there fairly quickly to accommodate the actor’s wishes of a more comfortable key. I haven’t been able to do that in years, partly because I’m lazy and most keyboards have a transpose button. This one didn’t.

I wasn’t sure if I’d ever be able to do score reading well again, so I’m pretty pleased. I haven’t been able to put in my best work, since I am still recovering from sick leave. I can work, and I’m getting better, but I am at about 60% -70% of my usual abilities at the moment. Clear improvement from about 20% -30% autumn 2016, I’m taking it one step at a time. No one is asking me to rush (except for myself occasionally). With that in mind, it took me 5-6 weeks to get good at it again. Imagine at my full potential. Probably even quicker. A good lesson for me indeed.

It helps that I love it, I’m sure. I know. Neeeerd… And proud of it! 🙂

me

 

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

