Posted on

Remembering Leonard

2016 really sucks, we’ve lost the great Leonard Cohen. I know he was 82, but 82 is not old for certain in this day and age. As I understand it he fell, causing him to die in his sleep peacefully later on. “Sudden but peaceful” according to his spokesperson.

There were a lot of songs that influenced me by this man, his dark vocals hitting home just right in pieces like Anthem and Famous Blue Raincoat.  I must admit Hallelujah is not my favourite. I was always in love with Rufus Wainwright’s version (and how crazy is it that his daughter Viva is Leonard’s grandchild?) because let’s face it. It’s Rufus. I named my guinea pig after him for chrissake…

Years ago I made a cover of Hallelujah. I wasn’t ignorant about where it came from, but I took Rufus’s (or I guess Jeff Buckley’s ? And yes I am aware of the 80+ verses but he still had a radio edit) lyrics and tried to recognize Leonard’s original with some of the choir and arrangement. But I think I’ll make another one. This time truer still to his original, lyrics and all, slightly remade with a touch of me. We’ll see how it goes! 🙂

In the meantime, remember; there is a crack in everything, that’s how the light gets in.

leonard-cohen

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

One response to “Remembering Leonard

  1. Andy

    I like his early ones, like Suzanne and Marianne, etc.

Leave a Reply

