Posted on

Getting vacation ready

Come monday, as my daytime job situation has improved immensely, I’m gonna have my first two weeks of proper vacation in forever. No travel per se planned, a few concerts and events, but really just time off. I chose my birthday week and the one following as I’ve worked on the day of my birthday the past five years and this year; well I just don’t wanna!

It’s gonna be good. I’m probably going to immerse myself in recording, but by choice, I’ve been looking forward to it. My co-workers, bless them, they like my music, but they really know nothing about that world. One of my co-workers is so proud when she gets a cultural reference, and she calls me her culture-encyclopedia. Nice, but not that challenging. And I’ve recently gotten a new Joni Mitchell album, going round the clock in my car. I was driving on the job, and another co-worker went; “oh, she sounds like you!” I tried to explain, purely musically but in layman terms, the difference between us and the answer was: “I really don’t know, I like ballads and Celine Dion. Your stuff is good, though!”

Well. As I said, bless ’em. Lovely? Yes. Challenging? Not so much. I might watch a few Gilmore Girls episodes to get in the groove, now that show presents some good reference trivia for the musician! Later on, I have some plans to challenge myself even more, but I won’t tell you for a while. In the meantime, have some bra-less, newly showered me realizing Spongebob’s eyes have a horribly apt position…

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

One response to “Getting vacation ready

  1. haha the facial expression for the win

Leave a Reply

