Posted on

Better known as covers…

I’m learning quite a lot from this category on Songpop. I’m gonna sound super ditzy now, like, really dumb and not keeping check of what I’m working with, but we all learn along the way, right?

Harry Nilsson did not do the original “Without you”. It was a group called Badfingers, and man, that’s  sad story. All the original songwriter members commited suicide during negotiations about the song and copyrights. Oh, myyyy, as George Takei would say.

Janis Joplin’s Piece of My Heart originated from Aretha Franklins older sister, Emma Franklin, and her song writers. Daaaaamn!

I know the story of Hallelujah, Leonard Cohen’s synthesized 80’s original, even Mad World which I covered the cover of myself, I knew the whole story there with Tears for Fears and what they did with the song and how it’s origins sounded. But some of these I just never imagined, the whole “I wasn’t first” scenario. Makes me wanna dive deeper. I promise I will, and it’s gonna mark the new album 2016.

 

janis

Harry Nilsson

American singer-songwriter Harry Nilsson (1941 – 1994), London, 30th December 1971. (Photo By Michael Putland/Getty Images)

 

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

