Posted on

Musical Beltane

What do you do when a group of men are singing marvelous choir songs to spring just down the hill from where you live? Why, you get down there and watch them of course! 😉 Skara does have an awesome tradition here. Skara Manskör perform at Kråks every April 30th, and I like to have a gander when they do. This year was particularly fun, as Mattias, an old pal I haven’t seen in ages since kids and whatnot, joined the choir a little while ago, so I got to say hi and ask him what harmony he does (tenor of course) and catch up ever so quickly.

This year’s spring speech was a bit of a letdown though. While Åke Bonnier had a powerful speech against rasicm and included the new Swedish gender neutral word “hen” last year, this year it was Margareta Stigson really going back 50 yrs. Talking about how girls couldn’t help but enjoy the spring smells. Wow, I do, but I had no idea the scent was connected to my uterus, I thought it was connected to me noticing nature with my senses and paying attention as a human being.

Otherwise I do like to take it easy, maybe write a bit of music and chill on this day. There is a long tradition of Swedes having been cooked up all winter getting shitfaced today, and me, I’m a rebel, I like to get shitfaced more evenly distributed over the year 😉 There is spring energy in the air though, so better channel it one way or another. I go for creatively!

Happy Beltane!

matt

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

