Posted on

Simone 2014

As I’m closing in on the end of the album, I find myself pretty inspired, which I’m sure you can tell by my more frequent posts 😛 Songwriting in the midst, because I’ve got the feelz…

Simone is a happy accident. One of my most obvious feministic songs including Simone De Beauvoir, Frieda Kahlo and the Magdalene (my go-to girl) and the words “sister suffragette”, yet it is actually more about being tired of the battle and just wanting to enjoy the world for a bit, without having to nag about your equal rights. A clear reference to my 1:st single “Black Bride”, as I let Mary rest and I lead the dance and she gets to listen to my heart beat for a while…

Hope you enjoy Simone demo 2014! 🙂

Lyrics: Simone, sit down for a while. Have a seat, rest your feet for a while. You don’t have to suffer fools gladly // I am calling all roses, comb your hair grab your hosies, open your eyes, let me rest for a while, and scream for me // Frieda put down your brush for a while. Let’s just talk let’s just smile for a while. We don’t have to forget what we do this for// I am…// Mary join in the dance for a while. Put your head to my chest for a while. When you lead it’s so hard not to follow// I am… I am calling you, Sister Suffragette I know you feel it too, open your eyes, let me rest for a while, and I’ll be right there screaming with you.

Simone

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

