Posted on

Happy studio days

I’m always nervous going into the studio. I can’t help it. Even if the gang (the Bohm bunch, as I affectionally call our drummer/bass/keys combo) should have muscle memory and can do the songs backwards and in our sleep there’s still this doubt. Will it work? Will I work? I sat with all the keyboards and lovely keys and I was just like: “as soon as they hear my parts seperately they’re gonna find out I can’t play”. No worries. I don’t think we did more than three takes on anything, some we even nailed first take. And there were these songs where bass and drums were left out, just me and the acoustic piano (well, you knew that was gonna happen, not giving too much away). And I just remembered as they were checking sounds, and I just played for soundcheck, and all of a sudden, my headphones start buzzing as I’m done. “Oh, sorry, we sound checked a long time ago, we were just mezmerised out here by what you were playing. We’ve decided we’re not gonna do click (a metronome) with it. You are one. You played on key even when we didn’t have one, it sounds great. A click is a potential leak (from my headphones to the mic), and honestly, you’re better without one.”

And they kept commending us for how well rehearsed we were and how the different takes were just brilliant in themselves. Nerves gone. Fun left. As we said our goodbyes and thankyous they just insisted: “No, thank YOU!” I of course thought I did crap. But I don’t see that as putting myself down. It’s pivital for getting better, being this critical of yourself. Mainly I think, as long as you don’t get scared of showing your current skills, that it’s healthy. I wasn’t this good two years ago. I can get better. And in the end, this will be an awesome album! 🙂

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

