Posted on

Sticks and Stones…

What a weird week so far. Rehearsals monday, album meeting for studio logistics and economy tuesday, and after that I took some time out on the way home to see the cranes at Hornborga. When there are a lot less of them they dance a lot more, as you can see on the pic, probably “I need to get laid now” desperation. Which I like, as I’ve only been when there’s been a full count, and the lazy bastards are not up for dancing then ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also tried out the binoculars for the first time, and you almost feel like you’re spying and they are staring back at you, even if they can’t see you. Being a bit more empty, there’s less check on parking, but I did put the money in. The sign said “the cranes thank you” and well… I can’t resist talking cranes…

But even more weird, going to rehearsals, I was talking to Silja going: “Ohhh, a massage would be good before recording, my shoulders are aching a bit…” and really only a bit. Went home after rehearsals and all of a sudden BAM! I couldn’t sleep. Took some paracetamol, slept a bit. Got up for the tuesday meeting. Drove to the cranes. All the while there was this huuuge pang of pain almost making me scream while driving and backing the car up. The shoulders have hurt before because of the “over mobile joints” as they call them, but never like this, especially not the last 5 yrs when I’ve been doing my back workout routine. As the evening approached and it didn’t pass I took a gander at 1177.se (health care site, a lot better than googling your symptoms and getting a big “CANCER” as first header ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and they had a small passage on the mobile joints and how it could lead to inflammation in the muscles around it. I gave 1177 a ring, and the nurse talking to me immediately got me an appointment at the health care centre: “I can hear you are in pain”. And that’s saying something. Working in the Ekehagen village, I can hold lectures with cut up and burnt hands without anyone noticing, sneaking the occasional supply from the first aid kit.

“Yeah, last time I was in this much pain I was at the hospital and they gave me two morphine shots to get me up to normal.” I was expecting a cortisone shot, but surprise, pills, ain’t it always the way? Pills and keeping my arm locked by my side. Friend E called me “Gimp” looking at my locked arm, but then he crafted me a mitella of his scarf, so I forgave him ๐Ÿ˜‰

So now I’m basically using one arm. The inflammation is on my left, and I’m right handed, so I’m not handicapped, but things go a lot slower, which I think was good for me. Things take twice as long so I’m forced to wind down and do things in slow motion. As a piano player, it’s ass to not be able to play both hands for the rest of the week, but for the rest of the stuff I do it’s a good lesson. I have to wear what slips on easily, so my different glittery scarves I use as mitella are my fashion statements now. And I’m thinking something like this was overdue. I’ve never broken anything, never worn a cast, have all my original teeth, my appendix, my tonsils and both my kidneys (knock on wood) so the short “gimp” period was coming ๐Ÿ˜‰ Let me tell you, it’s a LOT harder than it sounds to peel an egg with one hand! Putting make up on is fairly easy with strong thighs to hold the mirror and brushing your hair takes one hand. Having the toilet paper on the left in the bathroom is slightly inconvenient. Writing a blog post is a little slow but it works ๐Ÿ˜‰ Very thankful that I have all my limbs and that this is a short period of not using one. And I can drive. The right hand shifts. I’m better at steering with the left but hey, practise, right? And I can still grip with left if push comes to shove, it’s just a bit achy.

Just because it’s thursday and I am slow enough to reflect on cuteness, you also get a pic from spring 2012 when my big little furballs were supercute bah bahs. Can’t believe they’ve been that tiny! ๐Ÿ˜€

Image
The dance

Image
The invalid

Image
The tinies! All grown into those big ears and paws today :>

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

