Posted on

I wanna hold you but…

Holding singing lessons, I’ve read up on things bad for the voice. Tomato, chocolate, red wine, coffee, salty foods. So I’ve avoided it. Leading not only to me not hitting the high note I usually hit at rehearsals yesterday (the brilliant sound is coming, thank you for asking), but also leaving mr Doctor worried about my low blood pressure (105/65). I have a body that thrives on poison. I’m not sure how to feel about that…

Anyways, knock on wood, there are wonderful people coming to my aid in the putting it all together, simply by daring to ask. I remember this one special thing I really wanted for the album, and so I asked someone where she got the help. She told me: “Well, it was already in the building, ask <…person I am friends with on facebook, made it easier…> but I don’t think you can borrow it/rent it and take it outside the building.” So I asked the person, saying “well, people thought you’d say no, but there’s never been harm in asking”. Getting the reply: “Of course, you can borrow it for free, let me just check that there’s no hold-up”. See. Never listen to that kinda stuff. Because… well, there IS no harm in asking! And you may be surprised! I’m not any more. I was in the beginning. Now I just know that the answer can be just about anything, and has nothing to do with the attitude I’ve met first hand.

Friends my age are still impressed by people coming together to help out good music. And I realized why I hadn’t been so “daring” starting up. I didn’t ask, and that attitude was all around me. So I’m telling you so it doesn’t take you that long to learn about this šŸ˜‰

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

