Posted on

Judging by the music…

Spent the weekend gigging and judging a music contest for teenagers. I initially accepted because, honestly, I wanted to give it a go. Knowing music and history, maybe I’d make a great contribution. And it was pretty smooth sailing, there was concencus among the jury and we worked swiftly and easily together, but maaaan, I hated the judging part. I mean… Not just because I’ve been at the receiving end, but also, to judge fairly, you may have to critisize artists that have great potential, maybe greater than the winners. Me, I was old enough to know that in live competitions, i just have to enjoy playing live and putting on MY show, because artists like me and Tori Amos are NEVER gonna win these things, we speak to a certain audience, we’re not public entertainment like that. But these are teenagers. And I don’t feel like stopping the next great thing in its tracks. Hopefully they get so pissed off they work even harder towards brilliance, I’m not sure I’ll be doing this again. Remember that, competitors, you never know what that jury is really thinking about you and your future!

20140315-235836.jpg

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

