Posted on

The calm fight

I must admit, the reason I haven’t put up the march 8th as a gig yet (it’s coming, I just need to get a moment of updates between work) is there’s been some trouble. And here’s where your calm psyche that you have to have as an artist comes through. The first arranger went : “Oh no, you have musicians? And there’s a man there? On international woman’s day?? I don’t know?!” And as I got these news this week, I just calmly talked to her over the phone. “I respect this decision of only girls, I’m no stranger to it, my first album was just like that, although I had to give some men credit for production and stuff, just good manners. But I wanna put on a good show. And one of my musicians happens to be male and I enjoy working with him and my female bass player, we’re just synched and love eachother.” I was calm. I didn’t go bonkers because of bad communication. I just explained calmly and tried to keep a good mood. And it turns out, when I went to “the powers that be” on the gig, asking for their number it was no trouble. They had the same thoughts I had: “Hey, there are men coming to this international women’s day thing and you have an act with a man and women who wants to support it, it’s perfect. And you, the main artist, is female. Awesome. The most important thing is your show”

All I can say is obstacles are gonna come at any time. Don’t freak out. Explain calmly and happily your thoughts around it. Most of the time, no one will be in your way. The times they are… well, maybe it wasn’t that good, know what I mean? I believe in loving your musicians and them loving and supporting your stuff, and that is always more important than them happening to be gay/female/underdogs themselves. I think it’s more telling that I spoke of musicians, and the answer was: “You’re gonna have a bunch of males on stage?” Er… well… I didn’t know musician was male. Heck, gonna have to give up the piano, then 😉

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

