Posted on

Work work work…

IMG_0150

Between the current payed jobs (hey, some of us have to 😉 ) I sit and write the scores for the new album, and while it’s sometimes a tedious process I do stop and go: “Hey, this comes easy, it’s an easy job, albeit long, and I’d rather do this than anything else.”

I mean, can you complain when you write an awesome string quartet score, or a trumpet score 😀 ?

Part of your job as an artist is doing other things. Wether you can do things for fun as you live on your music, or work because you have to, it’s all good. Hell, I mean, Beyonce took a year off just picking her nephew up from daycare and giving birth herself. The little time I have to write scores I appreciate it, because it’s so much more fun than anything else.

I talked to someone the other day about music and “do you really wanna do it full time?”. And I was like: “Of all the jobs I’ve tried, yeah, this one I can have fun with 8 hours or more!”. Of course you have to do something else. Which you will when you can live on it.

I work a lot. But I’ve cut down on the non-music-related, just cause I took the other jobs to be able to do music. If that’s what you feel, then you’re on the right track. Like: “I could earn less, this is still awesome.” Then you’re on your way. Believe me, this is what you need to feel! 🙂

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

