Posted on

Shopping

I don’t do a lot of it (I was raised the “cherish-what-you-have” gal, in moderation of course, I get a new pair of jeans when my old favs lose their fit) but I do forget it’s fun landing at home with a lorra bags under your arms. This won’t turn into a shopping blog, I promise, but I’ll have the sporadic opinion here.

As I said, I’m not miss consumer, but fact is, clothes eventually lose fit and colour. Thrift shops are my recommendation, you’ll get something original and it’s better for the environment. The prices aren’t bad either. But I’m after the originality, I’m not performing in this years H&M, music is esthetical expression yes, but not fashion. Sometimes you even find clothes with the tag still on it. Never used, and they might fit you perfectly.

Another creative recommendation is Indiska, and I’m mostly talking the incense section here. It’s cheap, and they sell Lavender and Lemongrass aroma, really boosts your creativity. I know I’m giving you some wicca witchy new age tips here but it’s not religion, it’s just a bit of fact that certain aromas sets off certain areas of brain and mind. The smell of baked bread makes you want to buy the house it’s coming from (old realter trick) and well, lemongrass and lavender gets the creative juices flowing. If you wanna get spiritual, lavender cleanses and wards of evil, but really, biologically the scent creates the desire to create. So my tip for today is get your butt into thrift shops and Indiska, if you’re feeling a bit stuck. If you can and have the means, of course.

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

