Posted on

Travelling tips

576588_10151547537449270_1315999318_n

It’s hard being away from your babies, in my case the pianos, while out on vacation, my recent one to Gdansk, Poland. There are alternatives. They’re of course not as good, but can help with the worst withdrawal symptoms. Any instrument you play there’s a good app for your smartphone, and if you’re not big on surfing abroad they usually don’t require it. I’ve got one called Betterday Wireless Piano, and it works pretty well for me. Of course playing keys mainly, it’s not gonna be absolutely sufficient, but I think you’ll find just a little plonking satisfying and hey, it’s still vacation, right?

For the two-hands-playing-properly withdrawal I’ve got something simply named “Flexible Piano”, popping at about 50 euro. Again, the sound is not fantastic, but it really gets the job done when you need to play. I packed both my app and my foldable.

There’s always research to be done too, I pack my h2zoom dictaphone and look for typical, but for Sweden atypical sounds. Like the Ratusz bells in Gdansk. They have a very distinct sound and even play melodies. I got me a good recording there, even with the fadeout. Can be good to include, you’ll find a less cut-off sound ringing (pardon the pun) so much better.

And just looking at the street musicians. Not allowed anymore in not so culturally friendly Sweden (compared to other countries, I’m sorry, this is my opinion). I was so impressed. I was like “Whoah, I’m not good enough to be a street musician here!”. They made two instruments sound like an orchestra, and there was even a very skilled string quartet in the corner of old city one day!

And honestly? The cheap instruments! Play with them, try ’em out, see if something tickles your fancy. They may not be expensive pieces, but they can produce the most original sounds!

So you see, there’s a way to get to that music and tap into its power everywhere! 🙂

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

