Posted on

The prizes of their toys…

They say the difference between a child and an adult is the prize of the toys.

If you catch me live 2013 you’re in for additional treats! ๐Ÿ™‚ Apart from not torturing the poor sound technician with always having to get a stereo cable for the piano (it only sends signals in mono, meaning one signal goes to two speakers instead of two identical signals or the sound going to a speaker each, providing a richer sound) as I’ve got both brill converters and some stereo cables! I also have a build on stand for the keyboard stand. Shhh. There might be some Tori Amos-“playing several stuff simultaniously” going on, but you’ll only know for sure if you come watch ๐Ÿ˜‰

And the wee toy you see below. It specializes in effects on voices. All instruments come out as signals to be interpreted, as soon as they go through a cable, and the speakers and monitors attached to the PA mixing table have the important job of interpreting those signals into sound again. Sometimes with effects through the table, built in or attached to it. In this instance, I treat the signal immediately with my own hands. I have missed reverb and effects (well, mystical music can’t be too dry) on my voice when the PA-system at the venue I’m playing hasn’t been able to provide it. All instruments have distinct signals, and often devices built to treat that very sonic picture especially. This is what amplifiers do for basses and guitars (two different amps, since a bass gives a… well bass-y signal), and the ve-5 here does this for vocals.Of course you could connect other instruments, I’ve done some experimenting with my voice and guitar amps, as long as you know it’s not costum made for it and you’re gonna have to be ready for both; interesting, or utter crap.

As it’s attached before the plug to the mixing table, I’m holding the reins on the effects. I’m not a control freak, but the fact that I get to press the buttons on my voice does make me feel like I have a lovely toy to play with ๐Ÿ˜€ I mostly bought it so I’d never be without delay, reverb and maybe some good old fashion looping on my live performances, but it’s a box full of chocolaty goodness for vocals only, so I am gonna have me some fun!

See you live in 2013, remember, it’s fun to watch an excited grown woman play with her toys of awesomeness ๐Ÿ˜‰

Image

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

