Posted on

Songwriter at the core

Don’t get me wrong, I love so many other aspects of the music, the production, the mixing, the visual creations, the performances and not to mention the signing of all kinds of boobies.

But the other parts are just that, parts, they are not present all the time. Privately, I don’t gyrate, grunt, give you the warrior stare, flip my hair insessantly to fortify a standpoint, nor do I greet men by kicking them in the nutsack. I’m leaving that in the other world I visit, thank you very much.

And, while there is nothing wrong with my work ethics, when I’ve been mixing and producing for a good five hours I need a walk and to come back with a new set of ears, be it after 30 mins or 300. But what I always carry with me is some part taking in everything I see, saving it in that mental bank when it produces an extrordinary image or just giving that extra umph to an image already created.

Sitting in the studio this saturday, while paying attention and watching intently, some moments were just listen moments where there was nothing to take in. Immediately my head said; “dancing signals” and “ghost buttons”, referring to the signals dancing with the music on the front of the mix table, and the volume buttons moving up and down as Plec programmed them live to do so. I said it out loud, and while the dear Plec just laughed, I realized I do this all the time. I don’t just look at the mechanical side of it, I form my own image as well, probably to bring forth as I travel in my songwriting, I’ve just enlarged that world a little bit more.

I think that’s how you know what you truly are, or what helps you on the road to finding it out. What is the one thing you can’t stop doing, the one part of you that doesn’t rest even when you’re watching a film, cleaning, working, grocery shopping, whatever? Mine is the songwriting, clearly, creating the images and melodies that’ll take me to that place I like to go. It helps me with all the other parts. It’s always there opening the door for me to the mixing, production, the performances, because like Bifrost it offers a gateway, a bridge, to my other desires.

So what about you? Found your core yet or still looking? My best bet is don’t look, that’s when it reveals itself to you.

About lillabohmen

Swedish lovechild of Kate Bush, Tori Amos and PJ Harvey. 2 albums and 2 EP:s, all available at Spotify, Itunes, and physically. A blog about music, being a female musician in a male dominated business and the occasional feminist/veggie rant. Check out my homepage: www.mariabohm.com for news, bits and bobs and bio, and buy-o of my music. Never lose that creative spark!

Leave a Reply

